Team Awards Announced at Banquet
Dillon Lukehart was named Special Teams Player of the Year a second-straight time.

Dec. 8, 2013

BOISE, Idaho - The Boise State football team held its annual banquet Sunday night, and announced team awards for the 2013 season.

Included were the Bronco Offensive and Defensive Most Valuable Players, which went to redshirt juniors Matt Miller and Demarcus Lawrence, respectively.

Lawence, a defensive end from Aiken, S.C., ranks second-nationally in tackles-for-loss (1.8 per game) and eighth-nationally in sacks (1.0 per game). His 10.5 sacks in 2013 are tied for the fifth-most in a single season all-time at Boise State, and his 20.0-career sacks are tied for the seventh-most in school history.

Miller, a wide receiver from Helena, Mont., is tied for the team high with 77 receptions - also tied for the third-most in a single season in school history. He boasted a team-high 934 receiving yards, and his 11 touchdowns led the team, are the fifth-most in Boise State single-season history and are tied for 13th-nationally.

The Broncos' Special Teams Player of the Year went to redshirt sophomore safety Dillon Lukehart for the second-consecutive season. Lukehart, from Eagle, Idaho, won the award as a redshirt freshman in 2012 and was also the Special Teams Scout Player of the Year in 2011.

Scout Player of the Year Awards for 2013 went to junior wide receiver Terrell Johnson (offense), freshman linebacker Joe Martarano (defense) and freshman wide receiver Tanner Shipley (special teams).

Redshirt senior defensive tackle Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe was named the Broncos' Outstanding Defensive Lineman, and redshirt senior center Matt Paradis was named the team's Outstanding Offensive Lineman. Tjong-A-Tjoe recorded 50 tackles (20 solo) on the season, tied for the fifth-most on the team, and Paradis started each of the team's 12 games in 2013, giving him 25-consecutive starts along the offensive line.

Boise State's Academic Achievement Award recipient for 2013 was redshirt senior wide receiver Kirby Moore, who was named to the Capital One Academic All-District Football Team. He has already earned his degree in communications, and boasted a grade-point average of 3.68 while completing his undergraduate coursework.

The Iron Bronco Award went to redshirt senior left guard Spencer Gerke, and the Denny Erickson Valor Award was given to redshirt senior linebacker Jonathan Brown.

Redshirt sophomore safety Taylor Loffler earned The Hammer Award, and was the only individual to lead the team onto the field with The Hammer multiple times in 2013.

The Ultimate OSG Award, given by Head Strength and Conditioning Coach Tim Socha, was given to freshman tight end Alec Dhaenens.

A complete recap of the Broncos' 2013 team awards can be found below:

Academic Achievement - Kirby Moore
Ultimate OSG Award - Alec Dhaenens
Iron Bronco Award - Spencer Gerke
Denny Erickson Valor Award - Jonathan Brown
Offensive Scout Player of the Year - Terrell Johnson
Defensive Scout Player of the Year - Joe Martarano
Special Teams Scout Player of the Year - Tanner Shipley
Hammer Award - Taylor Loffler
Special Teams Player of the Year - Dillon Lukehart
Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe
Outstanding Offensive Lineman - Matt Paradis
Most Valuable Defensive Player - Demarcus Lawrence
Most Valuable Offensive Player - Matt Miller

» «